Ein Projekt der Christoph Merian Stiftung. Neuer Kunstraum für zeitgenössische Kunst.



Navnlaust Mønster Opptog, Olivier Di Placido & SEC_, EVOL

Navnlaust Mønster Opptog is a strict exotic pattern oriented unit based in Berlin. It brings together Norwegian drummer and percussionist Morten J. Olsen (snare drum, tape delay) and Spanish computer musician Rubén Patiño (SuperCollider, mixer). Their joint military space techno project blends acoustic and computer generated sounds while exploring the boundaries of repetitive structures and sound spatialisation.
Morten J. Olsen, born 1981 in Stavanger, Norway, studied in Amsterdam, lives and works in Berlin since 2006. Best known for his work as a drummer with the heavy-metal musique concrete duo MoHa! and the experimental chamber-rock band Ultralyd. Interested in the deconstruction of the drumkit or percussion set-up. Aside from playing solely the snaredrum with NMO, he has been exploring approaches to a rotating 32-inch bass drum, a single tuned gong, and the vibraphone.
Rubén Patiño, aka Pato, originally from Barcelona, works in the combination of electronic tonalities and visual arts.He has collaborated with Roc Jiménez de Cisneros, Olivier di Placido and Seiji Morimoto.

Olivier Di Placido & SEC_ play an original kind of improvisation, spastic and insane but also very emotional, poetic and careful to the shape and to composition - electro-acoustic and timbrical research mixed with a fresh attitude and the intensity of power electronics.
Olivier Di Placido has developed a unique technique in playing guitar, creating a completely new instrument that allows him to play cuts as a turntablist, or noises and electricity, or still microtonal drones and extreme bendings, everything with an extreme fragility. He has played with improvisers from all around Europe such as Tony Buck, Arnaud Riviere, Mario De Vega, Ruben Patino, Mat Pogo and others.
SEC_ plays Revox tape recorder and uses it to generate and manipulate no-input feedbacks. Trespassing borders between analog and digital, structured and improvised, narrative and abstract, SEC_ tries to build a new musicality made up of cuts, sudden passages, sharp or animalistic sounds and deep drones. He also collaborates with Jerome Noetinger (notably on the "Testacoda" LP on Bocian Records), plays in the duo Aspec(t), (a collaborative CD with Dave Phillips is upcoming), in the band Rara Avis featuring Ken Vandermark (CD "Mutations" just released by dEN Records). He has played with Valerio Tricoli, Andy Guhl, Franck Vigroux, Michel Doneda, Dario Sanfilippo, Mario De Vega, Mat Pogo and others.

EVOL: rave, synthesis, elasticity, time dilation, chronesthesia, goo, hoover, hoover-stretching, hyperobject, slime, psychedelia, fractal, upward spiral, downward spiral, warping, hooliganism, mereology, horns, horny, tetrafluoroethane, acid, anti-humanism, mentasmic, climax, freeze-frame, recursive, poing, anthem, non-anthem, balloon, strobe, unrestricted composition, party boobytrap, palindrome, fold-in, continuum, squashed, monolith, asymmetry, climax denial, quasiperiodic, gabber, homeomorphic, recurrence, fluorescence, phosphorescence.

Roc Jiménez de Cisneros and Stephen Sharp produce what they call "computer music for hooligans". Their work can be described as an aesthetic exploration of algorithmic composition and a deconstruction of rave culture. Their music has been published on record labels like Entr'acte, Mego, Presto!?, fals.ch or their very own ALKU. Their work has been exhibited in festivals, clubs, galleries and museums throughout the world. The name of the project comes from Sambucus Ebulus (in Catalan, évol), a herbaceous species of elder with a characteristic foetid smell.

EVOL: http://vivapunani.org/
Olivier Di Placido: & SEC_http://www.toxorecords.com/sec%5F/
Navnlaust Mønster Opptog: http://ennemmo.tk/